The STRING partnership was founded in 1999 as an INTEREG A program with the focus on establishing a new fixed link between Denmark and Germany. In 2008, Germany and Denmark signed a State Treaty, agreeing on the establishment of the fixed Femern Belt link. In the light of this, the cooperation between the STRING Partners changed towards promoting regional development and green growth in the corridor stretching from Oslo, along the Swedish west coast, through the Öresund Region to Hamburg.



The STRING partners are:


Region Skåne


The Capital Region of Denmark


Region Zealand






Copenhagen Municipality


In 2011 the partners agreed on establishing a permanent STRING secretariat to coordinate and promote the joint agenda of the partners, and implement the political decisions. The work shall build on the politics and initiatives that are already part of the partner´s political agendas, priorities and activities. What STRING adds to this is ajointpolitical goal, emerging when the common objectives and actions of Northern Europe´s strongest economies are put forward and placed on the political agenda.


In order to create a mutual political agenda and strategy, STRING is organised around five key themes, prioritised by all the partners. These shared priorities are:




Tourism and Culture


Science and Development


Green Growth


Cross- border Barriers


To facilitate the work of the STRING partners, the Secretariat aims to:


Develop common political agendasthrough analysis , fact findings, discussions and dialogues with stakeholders in- and outside the STRING partners government structures


Cooperate e with central stakeholdersin business life, universities, labor-organisations, culture institutions and NGO´s  to establish cooperation, networks and projects supporting  the overall vision and objectives of STRING


Develop a lobby, PR and communications agendapromoting STRING and its adjacent projects. The target groups  are the general public, as well as national governments and EU institutions; in particular the Parliament, the Commission, DG Regio and DG Transport.


For more information, please go to